

11 May 2016

Please reply to:

Contact: Greg Halliwell Direct line: 01784 446267

E-mail: g.halliwell@spelthorne.gov.uk

To the Councillors of Spelthorne Borough Council

I hereby summon you to attend the Annual meeting of the Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines-upon-Thames on Thursday, 19 May 2016 commencing at 7.30 pm for the transaction of the following business.

Roberto Tambini Chief Executive

Councillors are encouraged to wear their badge of past office at the Council meeting.

Please note that there will be a short period of Christian prayers at 7pm in the Leader's room before the formal Council meeting starts. All are welcome.

Spelthorne Borough Council, Council Offices, Knowle Green

Staines-upon-Thames TW18 1XB

www.spelthorne.gov.uk customer.services@spelthorne.gov.uk Telephone 01784 451499

AGENDA

Description Page nos.

1. Election of the Mayor

- (a). To elect the Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2016-2017.
- (b). The Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. Apologies for absence

To receive any apologies for non-attendance.

3. Minutes

To confirm as a correct record the minutes of the Council meeting held 1 - 8 on 28 April 2016.

4. Election of the Deputy Mayor

- (a). To elect the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2016-17.
- (b). The Deputy Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5. Disclosures of Interest

To receive any disclosures of interest from Councillors in accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct for members.

6. Announcements from the Mayor

To receive any announcements from the Mayor.

7. Announcements from the Leader

To receive any announcements from the Leader.

8. Committees 2016-2017

Committees' membership 2016-2017

9 - 10

(1). Establishment of Committees

In accordance with Articles 6, 8 and 9 of the Council's Constitution, and pursuant to Part 4 (a) – Standing Order 8.3, to appoint the following Committees of the size indicated below and with the Terms of Reference and functions set out in Part 3 (a) of the Council's Constitution.

Committee	Total voting members
Audit Committee	7
Licensing Committee	15
Members' Code of Conduct Committee	8*
Planning Committee	15
Overview and Scrutiny Committee	15
Staffing and Appeals Panel	5

(2). Allocation of seats on Committees – Appendix A

Pursuant to Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, to agree the representation of the different political groups on Committees.

*Note:

- (a). The political proportionality rules technically do not apply to the Members' Code of Conduct Committee, but the Council has agreed that all political groups, including a member of the Cabinet, should be represented on that Committee.
- (b). Two members of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee are independent, non-councillors.

(3). Appointment of members to Committees (to follow)

In accordance with the Council's Constitution, to appoint the members to serve on the above-mentioned Committees, including Mr. Murray Litvak and Miss Sue Faulkner as the non-elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee.

(The nominations to Committees - Appendix B – will be circulated at the meeting itself).

9. **Appointment by the Council to Outside Bodies**

To appoint councillor representatives to serve on the following Outside 11 - 12 **Bodies:**

- 1. South West Middlesex Crematorium Board (1 representative and 1 deputy)
- 2. Surrey Police and Crime Panel (1 representative)

Meetings of Committees

At the conclusion of the Annual Council meeting, individual meetings of the Committees listed below will be held one after another to consider the business specified in the agendas circulated to the relevant Committee members only.

- 1. Audit Committee
- 2. Licensing Committee
- 3. Overview and Scrutiny Committee
- 4. Planning Committee

Under the Council's Constitution, there is no requirement for the Cabinet or the Members' Code of Conduct Committee to meet this evening. The Leader of the Council and the Deputy Leader are exofficio the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Cabinet, and the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee are the two independent non-councillors appointed by the Council, namely Mr. Murray Litvak and Miss Sue Faulkner.